International Conference on Austronesian Linguistics


Madang, Papua New Guinea 

The Austronesian languages are a family of languages widely dispersed throughout the islands of Southeast Asia and the Pacific, with a few members spoken on continental Asia. Malagasy is a geographic outlier, which is spoken on Madagascar. Austronesian has ten primary subgroups, nine of them found in Taiwan (the Formosan languages) and one ancestral to all other members of the family (Malayo-Polynesian languages). Austronesian is one of the largest language families in the world, both in terms of number of languages (1244 according to Ethnologue) and in terms of the geographical extent of the homelands of its languages (from Madagascar to Easter Island). The name Austronesian comes from Latin auster “south wind” plus Greek nêsos “island”.

ICAL is held periodically every 2-3 years, and gathers scholars who work on all aspects of Austronesian languages, from diverse theoretical and methodological perspectives.

The next ICAL 15 will be held 28 June to 2 July, 2021 at Palacký University, Olomouc, Czech Republic, co-hosted by Leiden University, Leiden, Netherlands.

Further information will be posted here in time.

For any questions about ICAL in general, please email <gil AT>

For any questions about ICAL 15, please email < fanacek AT>


Past ICAL conferences:

ICAL 14 – Antananarivo, Madagascar

ICAL 13 – Taipei, Taiwan

ICAL 12 – Bali, Indonesia